The Richland Hospital and Clinics board elects new officers

Jul 18, 2023

John Annear will serve as chairperson for 2023-2024

Richland Center, WI – The Richland Hospital and Clinics (TRHC) board held its annual meeting on Monday, April 24. Former Richland Center Chief of Police John Annear was elected to be board chairperson for 2023-2024, succeeding Marilyn Rinehart. Steve Bauer will serve as vice chair, Marilyn Rinehart as treasurer, and Shelly Schmidt as board secretary. Kay Balink, M.D., will serve as medical staff representative to the executive committee.

Several seats on the board remain unchanged, including interim chief of the medical staff Dr. Robert Smith, John Poole, Traci Petersen, Peter Walsh, and Laura Melby. There were no new members elected to the board this year.

CEO Bruce Roesler expressed gratitude for the board’s guidance and spoke to the qualities of the incoming offers: “Our organization is fortunate to have such committed, generous, and talented board members such as John and Marilyn to lead us. As a nonprofit, The Richland Hospital and Clinics truly belongs to the community. Area residents can be confident that their interests are being served through the governance that our board provides.”

TRHC board members are volunteers who devote many hours to ensuring the hospital achieves its mission and serves the community’s health needs. Some responsibilities include approving medical staff members, developing the strategic plan, approving the budget, and evaluating the chief executive officer.

The Richland Hospital and Clinics is a nationally awarded health care facility dedicated to caring, educating, and healing. Providing compassionate care for nearly 100 years to residents of the greater Richland County area, TRHC operates an independent, integrated group medical practice in three locations, including rural health clinics in Spring Green and Muscoda and a critical access hospital at its primary health center in Richland Center, WI. For more information about TRHC, contact Shawna Connor, Director of Community Relations & Marketing at 608.647.1886 or